What Exactly Is Cheating?

couple-in-love (1)

I cannot believe I am saying this, but what exactly is cheating?

I’ve been out of the game for going on almost six years and there’s this whole new world going on with dating, sex, and relationships.

The whole point of asking is to find out for sure what is cheating when you have developed feelings for someone that you’ve met online. Which is crazy-sounding enough as it is. But it does happen.

If the feelings have grown into something that you believe you want to be with that other person, but that other person doesn’t return your affections or even feel the same way as you… what do you do when someone else comes along and says “Howdy!” ?

Its all a wad of clouded mess. I’ve not been able to determine what the hell is going on with my own self much less figure out if I am talking to another person… is cheating or not because my brain had been so fixated on the first person.

I guess eventually I’ll figure it out. But until then……. Next stop: Confusion City.

 

2 thoughts on “What Exactly Is Cheating?

  1. personally, I don’t think it is cheating until you do something physical. That said, I am not sure if the question of whether this is cheating or not is the right one. I think the real question is “has the level of feelings you are developing for the other person compromising your ability to commit to the relationship you are in”. Just my two cents

  2. You are not cheating unless you are in an exclusive, to be decided by both parties, relationship. Having strong feelings for someone online or otherwise is not a relationship, especially if both parties are not involved in the decision to be in the relationship. However, once you are in a relationship with someone, it is possible to cheat online with someone else…it’s not physical, it’s called emotional cheating, which leads or doesn’t lead to physical cheating…it doesn’t matter. You are still getting something from someone that you should be getting from the person you are in the relationship with. Sexting, or online sex, or whatever they are calling it now isn’t physical…but it’s still cheating.

Leave a Reply

